Alabama Crimson Tide players have won several major college football awards

Alabama Crimson Tide players have won several major college football awards

As Alabama prepares for the national championship match on Monday, several Crimson Tide players were honored with singles awards Thursday at the Home Depot College Football Awards.

As expected, Heisman award winner Devonta Smith He won the Fred Beletnikov (Best Recipient) award, while Quarterbek won Mac Jones (Davey O’Brien) left interference Alex Leatherwood (Outside) and running back Nagy Harris Doak Walker was also honored for their distinguished seasons.

Here is a list of the individual prizes whose winners were announced on Thursday:

Davy O’Brien Award: Jones, the first Associated Press All-American team, threw 4,036 yards with only 36 drops and four interceptions. Clemson Trevor Lawrence, Who finished the race ahead of Jones in the Heisman Cup vote, and Florida Kyle Trask They were also finalists.

Fred Beletnikov Award: Fittingly, Smith, who was the first broad recipient to win a Heisman award since Desmond Howard won it while playing for Michigan in 1991, also came home. The other two finalists, Ole Miss’ Elijah Moore And Florida Kyle Bates, They were also finalists. Smith had 105 passes at 1,641 yards with 20 touchdowns as the championship game continued.

Doak Walker Award: Harris ran 1,387 yards (6.1 yards per load) with his best of 24 landings. He met 303 yards in his last two victories in Alabama, against Florida in the SEC Championship (178) and Notre Dame in the college football semifinals (125). Iowa state Bryce Hall, The nation’s leading hacker, Clemson Travis Etienne They were also finalists.

The outer cup: Leatherwood is the third member of Crimson Tide to win the Outland title since 2016 Quinin Williams (2018) and Cam Robinson (2016). One of the NFL’s left-hand tackle best prospects, Leatherwood beat Notre Dame Liam Eichenberg And Iowa Devion Nixon. Last season winner, Oregon According to Sewell, Canceled pre-season.

READ  Patrick Mahomes and Tom Brady Goat's legacies collided

Chuck Bednarik Award: Tulsa Zaven Collins Won the award given to the best defensive player in the country before Notre Dame Jeremiah Uso Coramoah And Alabama Patrick Sertin II. In eight matches, Collins finished 53 tackles, 11.5 tackles for a loss, four bags and four interceptions. Collins was also honored with the Bronco-Nagorski Prize two weeks ago.

Le Grosa Award: Miami Jose Borregales He was named the nation’s top scorer after a near-perfect season. He converted 20 of 22 field goals – including 2 of 2 from 50 yards – and diverted all 37 extra point attempts. Alabama Will Richard And BYU Jake Oldroid They were the finalists.

Ray Jay Award: Georgia Tech Presley Harvin III He made history as the first African American to win the award, which is given to the best gambler in the country. It averaged 48.0 yards per kick and was dropped 18 of 45 passes into the opponent’s 20 yard line. Beat Georgia Jake Camarda And Miami Lou Headley.

Written By
More from Aysun Yaman

Bir cevap yazın

E-posta hesabınız yayımlanmayacak. Gerekli alanlar * ile işaretlenmişlerdir